Poem of the Day: Dear Depression

Dear depression,You are my best friend. You’ve been down since day one and you’ll be loyal until the end.  I first became cool with you back in grade 10.  I got cut from the team and the shit just didn’t make sense.  I lost interest in everyone.  I just wanted to be left alone.  I don’t remember ever leaving the house once I got home from school.  Life just sucked and things weren’t so good.  But you were by my side and always down to ride.  My relationship with you has survived the times.  You wiped the tears from my eyes when I found out she lied.  The pain ripped me apart inside.  No lie, I just wanted to die.  I checked myself into that hospital to escape the world, I was trying to hide.  Especially from you, but you stayed true.  I was down in the dumps and I couldn’t pull myself through.  Feeling blue I’ve always attached myself to you.  Your the first person I see when life gets too hard for me.  I’ve tried to be free but our toxic relationship always gets ahold of me.  You are my everything and yet you mean nothing.  You’ve always been jealous of Happiness, forever mortal enemies.  Every time he comes around you always put on a frown.  His presence annoys you but I enjoy the energy he brings.  He makes me smile while all you do is make me weep.   I love you more than I will like to admit.  I’m so used to you being around that you’re my best and longest relationship.  No one else has been as loyal as you.  So cheers to our past, present, and future.  Always stay blue!

Leave a Reply

